• Tuesday, 16 Apr, 2024,
  • by Andrew Copley

Sportsbet Geelong Gold Cup: Armchair Guide

Friday night’s $112,335 Group 2 Sportsbet Geelong Gold Cup Final (520m) will have a strong local flavour with seven of the eight finalists trained in the Geelong region.

In fact, all seven of last Friday night’s heat winners were locals, with the other finalist being the fastest runner-up, the electrifying Flying Zulu.

Tom Dailly (Anakie) dominated proceedings with four heat winners, including the three fastest qualifiers – Oregon Durant, Shima Shadow and Ethanol Extra.

A wonderful atmosphere awaits on Friday night with eight local sporting groups competing in the Community Cup Challenge.

The groups have been assigned a greyhound in the Geelong Gold Cup Final for a chance to share in $8,500 cash.

Points of interest:

  • Tom Dailly will rug four of the eight finalists plus the second reserve. Tom’s wife Andrea has won two Geelong Cups, in 2011 (Dyna Tron) and and 2016 (Shima Song).
  • Ethanol Extra, Ethanol Volume and first reserve Ethanol Water are littermates bred and owned by the Dailly Greyhound Farms syndicate.
  • Shima Shadow is a son of 2016 Geelong Cup winner Shima Song.
  • Daniel Gibbons (Tommy Tequila) is chasing back-to-back Geelong Cups after winning with Kelsey Bale last year.
  • Storm Stroller is contesting his third straight Geelong Cup final after running seventh in 2022 and 2nd in 2023. He has not featured in any other country cups across his career.
  • Jason Thompson (Flying Zulu) is chasing a sixth Geelong Cup win, with his last victory being with Hooked On Scotch in 2019.
  • Jamie Ennis, husband of Brooke Ennis (Zipping Gryllis), has won the Geelong Cup previously with Brilliant Lee (2005).


$75,000 (1st); $21,335 (2nd); $10,665 (3rd); $5,335 (4th)

  1. Ethanol Volume (Tom Dailly, Anakie) $5.50
  2. Ethanol Extra (Tom Dailly, Anakie) $9.50
  3. Oregon Durant (Tom Dailly, Anakie) $5.50
  4. Storm Stroller (Paul Bartolo, Little River) $31
  5. Flying Zulu (Jason Thompson, Pearcedale) $3.30
  6. Tommy Tequila (Daniel Gibbons, Avalon) $18
  7. Zipping Gryllis (Brooke Ennis, Lara) $9
  8. Shima Shadow (Tom Dailly, Anakie) $3


  1. Orli Bale (Correy Grenfell, Anakie) $10
  2. Ethanol Water (Tom Dailly, Anakie) $7.50

Heat winners

(fastest to slowest)

  • 29.83sec – Oregon Durant
  • 29.84sec – Shima Shadow
  • 29.98sec – Ethanol Extra
  • 30.10sec – Tommy Tequila
  • 30.10sec – Ethanol Volume
  • 30.30sec – Zipping Gryllis
  • 30.59sec – Storm Stroller

Recent winners:

  • 2023 Kelsey Bale
    (Daniel Gibbons)
  • 2022 Yozo Bale
    (Correy Grenfell)
  • 2021 Weblec Jet
    (Jeff Britton)
  • 2020 Simon Told Helen
    (David Burnett)
  • 2019 Hooked On Scotch
    (Jason Thompson)
  • 2018 Aston Kimetto
    (Jason Thompson)
  • 2017 Thirty Talks
    (Tony Brett)
  • 2016 Shima Song
    (Andrea Dailly)
  • 2015 Dalgetty
    (Jason Thompson)
  • 2014 Luca Neveelk
    (Gerald Kleeven)
  • 2013 Black Magic Opal
    (Jason Thompson)
Andrew CopleyAndrew Copley

Andrew Copley

Communications Manager at Greyhound Racing Victoria with 25 years’ experience as a reporter with National Greyhound Form newspaper and GRV. Former Watchdog form analyst. Adopter of celebrity greyhound, Fred Basset. Victorian Greyhound of the Year and Victorian greyhound racing Hall of Fame panel member.

Up Next

GAP intake model is changing

Currently for a greyhound to be accepted into GAP it must pass a GAP pre-entry assessment (GAPPEA) however, from 1 June 2024, the way greyhounds are accepted into GAP will change significantly.