Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

TAB Melbourne Cup facts & figures

Here’s a quick guide to the 65-year history of the world’s greatest greyhound race, which was first run in 1956 when won by Rocketeer. It might even help you find the winner in Friday night’s $762,500 final.

Melbourne Cup winning boxes

  • Box 1 has produced 17 winners, including two of past four – Aston Dee Bee (2017) and My Redeemer (2018)
  • Box 2: 8 winners, most recent Dyna Double One (2015)
  • Box 3: 7 winners, most recent Whiskey Riot (2019)
  • Box 4: 6 winners, most recent Betty’s Angel (2006)
  • Box 5: 6 winners, most recent Hard Style Rico (2020) in a race record 28.91sec
  • Box 6: 4 winners, most recent Shanlyn Prince (2007)
    Box 7: 8 winners, most recent Dyna Tron (2011)
  • Box 8: 7 winners, most recent Dyna Villa (2014)

The favourites

  • From the past 21 Melbourne Cups, only six favourites have saluted – 2000 Go Wild Teddy ($2.20), 2002 Excite Ability ($2.70F), 2003 Bombastic Shiraz ($2.30), 2010 El Grand Senor ($1.70), 2013 Black Magic Opal ($2.00) and 2017 Aston Dee Bee ($2.40).
  • Gold Grotto (1972) is the shortest-priced winner at $1.50.
  • The longest-priced winner in the past 20 years is Classic Capri ($25.90) in 2001.


  • Just a nose separated Whiskey Riot and Western Envoy in the 2019 Melbourne Cup, the smallest margin in the race’s history. Fox Hunt (1991) has the biggest winning margin – nine lengths.

Fernando factor

  • 2015 Melbourne Cup runner-up Fernando Bale has sired two of the past three winners – My Redeemer (2018) and Whiskey Riot (2019). This year he’s represented by three finalists.

Rupee royalty?

  • Aston Rupee is attempting to become only the second winner of the ‘triple crown’, comprising the Topgun, Shootout and Melbourne Cup after Bombastic Shiraz achieved the feat in 2003.


2011 Dyna Tron (Andrea Dailly, Anakie VIC)
2012 Got A Moment (Jason Thompson, Pearcedale VIC)
2013 Black Magic Opal (Jason Thompson, Pearcedale VIC)
2014 Dyna Villa (Jenny Hunt, Teesdale VIC)
2015 Dyna Double One (Andrea Dailly, Anakie VIC)
2016 Ando’s Mac (Jason Mackay, Richmond Vale NSW)
2017 Aston Dee Bee (Seona Thompson, Pearcedale VIC)
2018 My Redeemer (David Geall, Lara VIC)
2019 Whiskey Riot (Anthony Azzopardi  Rowsley VIC)
2020 Hard Style Rico (Luckie Karabitsakos, Pearcedale, VIC)

The TAB Melbourne Cup is the fourth and final leg of the Metro Festival of Racing. READ MORE

Thrill of the Chase with Molly Haines, Gareth Hall and George Farrugia on 7Two and via The Watchdog app from 6-7pm.
– Comprehensive live telecast trackside with Jason Lincoln, Marc Ohlmus and Jason Adams on Sky Racing, and via The Watchdog App from 7pm.
– Behind the scenes Twitter coverage with ‘@SandownDogs’ and ‘@WatchDogRacing’.
– Regular updates with Trent Langskaill on RSN Racing and Sport (927 AM).
– Coverage of TAB Melbourne Cup Final with Andrew Copley on 3AW (693 AM).

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

About Peter Quilty - Has more than three decades of experience as assistant editor of Victorian Greyhound Weekly. He was editor of GRV monthly magazine The Adviser (2001-09) and owner/publisher of Australian Greyhound Monthly. He also served on the selection panel for the inaugural GRV ‘Hall of Fame’ inductees and for several years was an adjudicator on the Victorian GOTY. He’s also published greyhound racing yearbooks and wrote the ‘Bold Trease’ video script.
View all posts

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis