Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

Shepparton Cup: Fact File

There are so many stories surrounding tonight’s $67,000 G2 CKH Painting Shepparton Cup (450m), to run at 8.59pm.

Here’s everything you need to know to be on top of this great race.

  • This will be the 47th running of the Shepparton Cup, with the race first being held in 1973 when won by Garner Bin.
  • Some of the biggest names to win the race include local cult hero Highly Blessed (1990), Kantarn Bale (2000), Whisky Assassin (2004), Slater (2006), El Grand Senor (2011) & Hard Style Rico (2020).
  • Music Event is aiming to be the first greyhound from the Shepparton region to win the race since Thorgil Tex in 2004.
  • Barooga Smoke (24.94sec) was the fastest heat winner for 29-year-old Brett Nye, who has only been training greyhounds for about 18 months.
  • Four of the eight finalists have won at Group 1, 2 or 3 level – Aston Gwen (G2 Laurels); Catch The Thief (G2 WA Derby; G3 Warragul St. Leger); Music Event (G3 Cup Night Sprint) & Tiggerlong Tonk (G2 Horsham Cup; G3 Shootout; G3 Easter Gift).
  • Aston Gwen is aiming to become the first female greyhound to win the Shepparton Cup since Hanify’s Impact in 2008.
  • Aston Gwen’s trainer, Ben Magri is hoping to replicate the feats of his mum, Michelle Mallia-Magri, who trained 2012 Shepparton Cup winner Blackalls Boss.
  • Only five favourites have won the Shepparton Cup in the past 20 years, which doesn’t bode well for Catch The Thief ($3.30Fav).
  • Catch The Thief had his first start for new trainer Jason Thompson in his heat, with the Pearcedale trainer aiming for a fifth Shepparton Cup having won with Head Honcho (1993), Whisky Assassin (2004), Hanify’s Impact (2008) and Aston Bolero (2016).
  • Benchester, the 385m track record holder at Shepparton, ran 4th in last year’s Shepparton Cup Final.
  • Ferdinand Boy is in great form at the track, having won the Shepparton Classic Final (450m) earlier this month. He’s five from six (83%) exiting from Box 8.
  • Papi Go Fast is named after Melbourne Storm superstar and greyhound fanatic Ryan Papenhuyzen (judged best on ground in the 2020 NRL Grand Final), who closely follows the greyhound’s career. He’s won 17 races from 28 starts and is yet to be unplaced.
  • The Shepparton Cup race record of 24.80sec was set by Hard Style Rico in 2020.
  • In the past 20 years Boxes 4 & 6 share the most Shepparton Cup winners with four each.

WATCH: Barooga Smoke (2) was enormous in beating Tiggerlong Tonk (3) in their heat in 24.94sec, the fastest of the five heats. READ MORE

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis