• Friday, 16 Aug, 2019,
  • by Greyhound Racing Victoria


There’s a hackneyed phrase espousing, “the cream always rises to the top”.

And in that respect, Dyna Hunter is among the crème-de-la-crème of the contemporary sprinting genre.

Prepared at Pearcedale by Steven Collins, Dyna Hunter not only has 27 wins from 63 starts to his credit but has contested five Group race finals, including victory in this year’s Group 2 Warragul Cup final.

And Dyna Hunter (box eight) hasn’t caught our ever-vigilant GRV form analyst off guard tonight in a Free For All over 400 metres at Geelong.

The Watchdog has sniffed out the fact Dyna Hunter has notched seven wins, one second and one third in nine starts from the ‘pink’ alley.

Funnily enough, Dyna Hunter has only started on one occasion over the 400m trip at Geelong and it resulted in a blistering 22.24sec success – just under four lengths off the 22.01sec track record, established by Aston Bolero in August 2016.

In a statistical quirk, Dyna Hunter (box eight) was scratched from last year’s Group 2 Geelong Gold Cup over 460 metres, after setting the 25.21sec time standard in the heats.

Here is a replay of Dyna Hunter’s 22.24sec best-of-night win at Geelong (400m) in October last year from box four:

Greyhound Racing VictoriaGreyhound Racing Victoria

Greyhound Racing Victoria

GRV regulates the sport of greyhound racing in the state of Victoria under the Racing Act 1958 (Act), which includes setting standards and ensuring they are met by participants.

Up Next

Battle royale for Victorian GOTY

While the race to be crowned Victorian Greyhound of the Year has been decided

Newsletter Signup