• Friday, 16 Aug, 2019,
  • by Andrew Copley

2019 VGAs – All the recipients

The Victorian Greyhound Awards took place at Melbourne’s Crown Casino this evening in celebration of the 2018-19 Racing Season.

Champion sprinter Orson Allen was announced the Victorian Greyhound of the Year, as adjudged by the seven-person panel, based on performances between 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.

During that time the fawn superstar won numerous feature races, most notably the Perth Cup and Harrison-Dawson – both Group 1 events – as well as two country cups and the Shootout.

The Correy Grenfell-trained greyhound was also named the Victorian Sprinter of the Year, while Tornado Tears was named the Stayer of the Year.

Two new inductees entered GRV’s Hall of Fame – one of the all-time great sprinters, Fernando Bale and Warrnambool’s iconic Norm McCullagh, trainer of the legendary Bold Trease and current star Crimson Vixen.

Accomplished breeder and long-time Sandown GRC administrator David Gleeson received the Ken Carr Medal, while Lara breeder trainer David Geall was presented with the Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award.

Anakie’s Andrea Dailly was once again named the Metropolitan and Provincial Trainer of the Year, while Julie Mathieson of Greyhound Safety Net received the GRV Board Welfare Award for her efforts in rehoming former racing greyhounds, and Shepparton GRC President Tracey Fothergill was the recipient of the first ever GRV Board Leadership Award.

Greyhound of the Year: Orson Allen

Sprinter of the Year: Orson Allen

Stayer of the Year: Tornado Tears

Hall of Fame: Fernando Bale

Hall of Fame: Norm McCullagh

Ken Carr Medal: David Gleeson

Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award: David Geall

GRV Board Welfare Award: Julie Mathieson

GRV Board Leadership Award: Tracey Fothergill

Metropolitan and Provincial trainer of the Year: Andrea Daily


Andrew CopleyAndrew Copley

Andrew Copley

Communications Manager at Greyhound Racing Victoria with 25 years’ experience as a reporter with National Greyhound Form newspaper and GRV. Former Watchdog form analyst. Adopter of celebrity greyhound, Fred Basset. Victorian Greyhound of the Year and Victorian greyhound racing Hall of Fame panel member.

Up Next


Punters will be ‘channelling’ their attention towards Tauwitchere in a Free For All…

Newsletter Signup