• Friday, 19 Aug, 2022,
  • by Trent Langskaill

The Stir Up – The VGAs Edition

GRV’s Peter Quilty, Andrew Copley and Trent Langskaill discuss the nominees for the 2022 Victorian Greyhound of the Year.


Trent  Fellas, we have an amazing night in store with the announcement of the 2022 Victorian Greyhound of the Year. Let’s go through the contenders in alphabetical order.

Peter  Aston Rupee had an outstanding season. He won two Group 1s, shattered the Sandown Park 515m track record and almost broke the long-standing 525m track record at The Meadows.

Andrew  I’m fortunate enough to be on the Victorian Greyhound of the Year Panel, so I can’t give anything away, but it is fair to say that greyhound racing fans are in awe of the electrifying Ferdinand Boy. Two country cup wins in the past season, success in a Pink Diamond final, and placed in the Group 1 Hobart Thousand.

Trent  Jarick Bale has been fantastic for Team Delbridge (Mark and Lisa) with Group 1 triumphs in the Sale Cup and Rookie Rebel, plus a gallant second in the Sandown Cup.

Peter  The winner of the Group 1 Melbourne Cup is always fondly remembered, and Koblenz must be highly regarded after taking out the world’s greatest greyhound race.

Trent  After she finished runner-up to Koblenz in the Melbourne Cup, it was terrific to see Lala Kiwi capture Group 1 success in the Australian Cup.

Andrew  Australian Cup night at The Meadows also saw Mepunga Ruby claim a well-deserved Group 1 crown in the Fanta Bale Super Stayers, and she was placed in four other Group 1s.

Peter  Another stayer that finally cracked Group 1 success was Untapped in the Sandown Cup, and it was an emotion-charged victory for trainer Dustin Drew and his family.

Trent  Has the best been saved for last? Wow She’s Fast was breathtaking in The Phoenix, Group 3 Launching Pad, Group 1 Sapphire Crown and Group 3 Bill Collins Speed Star.

Andrew  I think we can all agree that whichever greyhound is crowned the 2022 Victorian Greyhound of the Year will join an illustrious honour roll.


Follow @greyhoundracingvic on Instagram and GRVictoria on Facebook for coverage of the 2022 Victorian Greyhound Awards from 6:30pm.

Trent LangskaillTrent Langskaill

Trent Langskaill

Trent Langskaill is an experienced media personality and market mover in greyhounds. You can hear him regularly on RSN, SEN Track and you’ll find him at a track near the winners.

Up Next

Ken Carr Medal – Heather Villinger

Passionate coursing volunteer Heather Villinger is GRV’s Ken Carr Medal recipient for 2021-22.

Newsletter Signup