• Tuesday, 16 Aug, 2022,
  • by Andrew Copley

Who will be crowned Victorian Greyhound of the Year?

The 2022 Victorian Greyhound Awards will take place on Friday night at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne.

A host of awards will be presented on the night, most notably the Victorian Greyhound of the Year (GOTY), while up to three new inductees will enter GRV’s Hall of Fame.

The Victorian Greyhound of the Year panel – which includes representatives from the media, clubs, GOTBA and GRV – voted on the Greyhound of the Year based on performances which took place from 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2022.

A number of superstar greyhounds were considered by the panel including (in alphabetical order) Aston Rupee, Ferdinand Boy, Jarick Bale, Koblenz, Lala Kiwi, Mepunga Ruby, Untapped and Wow She’s Fast.

The list of awards to be presented on the night includes:
Victorian Greyhound of Year
Victorian Sprinter of the Year
Victorian Stayer of the Year
GRV Hall of Fame
Ken Carr Medal
Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award
GRV Board Leadership Award
GRV CEO Welfare Award
Victorian Metropolitan Trainers Premiership
Victorian Provincial Trainers Premiership
Victorian Metropolitan Trainers Strike Rate Award
Victorian Provincial Trainers Strike Rate Award

How to follow the action
Enjoy live updates and behind the scenes action from 6.30pm across the following GRV platforms:
– GRV Facebook (
– GRV Instagram (
– GRV Twitter (@GRV_News)
– GRV website (

* A greyhound is not eligible for consideration for a GOTY Award and cannot be included in any voting by the GOTY voting panel if the greyhound has returned a positive swab to a prohibited substance.

GOTY criteria

* A trainer is not eligible for the Premiership awards, regardless of the number of wins if the trainer has, during the racing year of the award:
a. been found guilty of a serious offence, or
b. had a greyhound return a positive swab to a prohibited substance.

Metropolitan Trainers Premiership criteria
Provincial Trainers Premiership criteria

Andrew CopleyAndrew Copley

Andrew Copley

Communication Manager at Greyhound Racing Victoria with 25 years’ experience as a reporter with National Greyhound Form newspaper and GRV. Former Watchdog form analyst. Adopter of celebrity greyhound, Fred Basset. Victorian Greyhound of the Year and Victorian greyhound racing Hall of Fame panel member.

Up Next

Plaintiff’s ‘verdict’ at Temora

Vic duo into Million Dollar Chase semi-finals.

Newsletter Signup