Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

Elite field to contest 40th annual CHS Group Horsham Cup

An impressive field will line up for the 40th running of the $67,00 Group 2 CHS Horsham Cup this Saturday night with a $47,000 first prize on offer.

The Horsham Greyhound Racing Club will host the return of the 485m racing event. A major nine-month, $800,000 upgrade of the track and facilities meant the event was not run last year.

Greyhound Racing Victoria Chairman Bernie Carolan, who will be in Horsham on Saturday night, said it was great to have the Cup back at Horsham.

“This is a major country cup. It is the flagship event for this club and it is always a great night. The upgrade was a significant investment for GRV and a significant disruption for participants and racing enthusiasts, but it means we now have a fantastic track for racing and for greyhound safety,” Mr Carolan said.

“It is GRV’s job to build a long-term and sustainable future for greyhound racing in Victoria, and we can only do that if we have great facilities and excellent racing on offer. A lot of our investment is directed towards regional Victoria where 11 of our 13 clubs are located.”

Twelve races will be run on the night, including another three feature events – the Sylvia Penny Memorial over 410m, and the Jan Wilson Memorial and the Horsham Cup Consolation which are both over 485m.
The Cup has drawn an impressive field featuring some of Victoria’s most experienced greyhounds as well as some up and coming young stars. Heats were held last week, with the five heat winners and three fastest second place-getters booking their place in the final.

Local racing enthusiasts will have the chance to see one of Australia’s premier sprinters Aston Dee Bee, who is Australia’s fifth highest all-time prize money earner ($787,840) in action.

Trained by one of the state’s leading trainers Seona Thompson, this powerhouse is chasing his fifth group win. The three-year-old is a seasoned campaigner compared to kennel mate Out of Range who at 25 months of age is already a dual Group 1 winner of the Silver Chief and the National Derby, with just 19 starts to his name.

Rising star Jimmy Newbob will start in box 1. He is a multiple group finalist, has come close with a second place in the Harrison-Dawson at Sandown and at the 2018 Warragul Cup, but he has yet to win a group race.

Tiempo Dinero ran 27.06 secs to win his place in the final, which was the fastest time of the five heats. He has an impressive pedigree, sired by the retired champion El Grand Senor, one of Victoria’s greatest champion greyhounds of all-time.

There will also be plenty of entertainment off the track, with music, dining and giveaways, as well as jumping castles, face painting and fairy floss for the kids. Gates open at 6pm.

Saturday night 10 March – 485 metres
Prize money: $47,000 (1st); $13,335 (2nd); $6,665 (3rd)

1. JIMMY NEWOB, Kelvyn Greenough (Pearcedale VIC)
2. OUT OF RANGE, Seona Thompson (Pearcedale VIC)
3. SUPER SOOK, Vicki Wisener (Hazelwood, VIC)
4. TIEMPO DINERO, Michael Carter (Kialla VIC)
5. SOLITARY GIRL, Raymond Drew (Dennington VIC)
6. ALPHA LUCKY, Jeff Britton (Anakie, VIC)
7. ALPHA GEORGIOU, Jeff Britton (Anakie VIC)
8. ASTON DEE BEE, Seona Thompson (Pearcedale VIC)

9. GREGOROVITCH, Ian Cockerell (Buckley VIC)
10. CALENDAR BOY, Brooke Ennis (Lara VIC)

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis