Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

Finalists for AGRA Greyhound of the Year Announced

The Australian Greyhound Racing Association (AGRA) has announced the three finalists for the 2013-2014 AGRA Sky Channel Greyhound of the Year.

Black Magic Opal, Paw Licking and Xylia Allen were judged the top three after the judging Panel considered the achievements of five greyhounds nominated by the AGRA committee.

The judging panel consisting of administrators and media representatives from each state plus a group of national media representatives from Print, Radio and Television.

The panel allocated votes 3, 2 and 1 on what they considered to be their top three finalists in order of each judge’s preference in a secret vote.

The votes have been tallied and one of the finalists will be crowned the winner of the covered award at AGRA’s Nationals Dinner & Awards night to be held at the Esplanade Hotel in Fremantle West Australia on Friday 22 August

On this exciting night the other National Award winners will also be announced they are Trainer of the Year, Sire and Dam of the Year and the Run of the Year.

Sky Channel camera’s will be in attendance at the Esplanade to capture a presentation package which will be shown on the “Catching Pen” the following Monday.

The previous 12 winners of the AGRA Australian Greyhound of the Year are 2002 Boomeroo, 2003 Bombastic Shiraz, 2004 Whisky Assassin, 2005 Pure Octane, 2006 Betty’s Angel, 2007 Flashing Floods, 2008 El Galo, 2009 Cindeen Shelby, 2010 El Grand Senor, 2011 Dyna Tron, 2012 Miata and 2013 Miata.

Listed in alphabetical order are the three finalists and their achievements during 2013-2014.

(May 2011 Black Dog (Magic Sprite – Awesome Opal)
Race starts 2013-2014: 25 – 17 wins, 2 seconds, 1 third. Owners: Black Magic Opal Syndicate. Trainer: Jason Thompson (Pearcedale, Victoria)
Winner: Group 1 Melbourne Cup, Group 2 Geelong Cup, Group 2 Warrnambool Cup. Finalist: Group 1 Hobart 1000 (2nd); Group 2 Warragul Cup (6th); Group 2 Bendigo Cup (7th).
Total Career Prizemoney: $587,865.

Watch: Black Magic Opal winning the Group 2  Warrnambool Cup in April.
(March 2011 White & Black Dog Elite State – Kingsbrae Di)
Race starts 2013-2014: 30 – 15 wins, 9 seconds, 2 thirds. Owner: Allan Lang. Trainer: Kelvyn Greenough (Pearcedale, Victoria)
Winner: Group 1 Hobart 1000; Group 2 Shepparton Cup; Group 2 Bendigo Cup; Group 2 Maitland Cup.
Finalist: Group 1 National Sprint Championship (4th); Group 1 Temlee (2nd); Group 2 Geelong Cup (3rd); Group 2 Ballarat Cup (2nd); Group 2 Warragul Cup (3rd) Group 2 Healesville Cup (2nd).
Total Career Prizemoney: $430,600.

Watch: Paw Licking winning the Group 2 Bendigo Cup in April.
(April 2011 Black Bitch (Turanza Bale – Tayah Bale)
Race starts 2013-2014: 37 – 18 wins, 3 seconds, 8 thirds. Owner: Paul Wheeler. Trainer: Jenny Hunt (Lara, Victoria)
Winner: Group 1 National Sprint Championship; Group 1 Albion Park Gold Cup.
Group 1 Winter Cup (3rd); Group 1 Top Gun (3rd); Group 1 Brisbane Cup(4th); Group 1 Rookie Rebel (5th); Group 2 Bob Payne (2nd); Group 2 Geelong Cup (4th); Group 3 SA Oaks (3rd).
Total Career Prizemoney: $701,375.

Watch: Xylia Allen win the Group 2 McKenna Memorial in July.
Pictured above: Black Magic Opal winning the 2014 Warrnambool Cup. Pic Clint Anderson.

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis