• Wednesday, 16 Aug, 2023,
  • by Greyhound Racing Victoria

Sportsbet Victorian Greyhound of the Year to be announced this Friday night

The stars of Victorian greyhound racing from season 2022-23 will be honoured this Friday night at the 2023 Victorian Greyhound Awards at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne.

Headlining the awards to be presented on the night will be the Sportsbet Victorian Greyhound of the Year, while two new inductees will reach immortality when welcomed into Victorian Greyhound Racing’s Hall of Fame.

Victorian Greyhound of the Year panellists – which includes representatives from the media, clubs, GOTBA and GRV – have voted on the Greyhound of the Year based on performances which took place between 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.

A number of superstar greyhounds featured in panel discussions including (in alphabetical order) Amron Boy, Baby Jaycee, Fernando Mick, First Picked, Jarick Bale, Kelsey Bale, Moraine Suzie, Wow She’s Fast and Yachi Bale.

Awards to be presented
on the night:


  • Sportsbet Victorian Greyhound of Year
  • Sportsbet Victorian Sprinter of the Year
  • Sportsbet Victorian Stayer of the Year
  • Victorian Metropolitan Trainers Premiership
  • Victorian Provincial Trainers Premiership
  • Victorian Metropolitan Trainers Strike Rate Award
  • Victorian Provincial Trainers Strike Rate Award

Other special awards to be presented on the night include:

The Ken Carr Medal is Victorian greyhound racing’s most prestigious annual award recognising an individual’s special or outstanding contribution to greyhound racing in Victoria.

The Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award for outstanding achievement in the training, breeding or promotion of greyhound racing in the previous racing year.

The GRV Board Leadership Award which aims to recognise those who, over the racing year, have made a special contribution to the sport in the promotion of racing, breeding, owning, training and adopting of greyhounds in Victoria.The GRV CEO Welfare Award aims to recognise those who have demonstrated a commitment to animal welfare and will be awarded to a person for a special or outstanding contribution to the welfare of greyhounds in Victoria.

The Victorian Greyhound Racing Hall of Fame recognises people and greyhounds that have made a most significant contribution to the Victorian Greyhound Industry since the commencement of Non-Proprietary racing in 1956. Inductees are recognised for their excellence, integrity, consistency, longevity and overall contribution to the industry.

How to follow the action

Enjoy live updates and behind the scenes action from 6.30pm (AET) across the following GRV platforms:

* A greyhound is not eligible for consideration for a GOTY award and cannot be included in any voting by the GOTY voting panel if the greyhound has returned a positive swab to a prohibited substance.

* A trainer is not eligible for consideration for a ‘Trainer’ award if the trainer has, during the racing year of the award:

  1. been found guilty of a serious offence, or
  2. had a greyhound return a positive swab to a prohibited substance.
Greyhound Racing VictoriaGreyhound Racing Victoria

Greyhound Racing Victoria

GRV regulates the sport of greyhound racing in the state of Victoria under the Racing Act 1958 (Act), which includes setting standards and ensuring they are met by participants.

Up Next

A Day at the ‘NB Museum’

Neil Brown – greyhound racing chronologist