• Friday, 19 Aug, 2022,
  • by Peter Quilty

Victorian Provincial Trainer Strike Rate Award – Steven White

Astute Buln Buln East trainer Steven White has taken out the 2021-22 Provincial Trainer Strike Rate Award.

He received the gong during a gala 2022 Victorian Greyhound Awards evening, held at the Plaza Ballroom, on Friday.

White’s 95 country starters claimed 43 wins at a 45.26% winning strike rate.

He shaded Jason Thompson, who had 134 wins from 302 starters at 44.37%, and Mark Morrissey with 28 wins from 68 starters at 41.18%.

White’s standout performer was Paua Of Buddy, which won eight country races during the 2021-22 racing year (July 1 – June 30).

Obviously, the highlight was his 2021 G2 2 Bendigo Cup (425m) victory on October 16 in a then 23.29sec track record.

Other major contributors to White’s award were 2021 G2 Traralgon Cup runner-up Paua Of Janie (6 wins), 2021 Rising Stars (Sale) winner Paua Of Mindy (6 wins) and Paua Of Oscar (6 wins) – all descendants of AGRA Hall of Fame inductee Paua To Burn – and Release The Rage (6 wins).

2022 Provincial Trainer Strike Rate Award

Trainer Starts Wins Strike rate
1st Steven White 95 43 45.26%
2nd Jason Thompson 302 134 44.37%
3rd Mark Morrissey 68 28 41.18%


The Victorian Provincial Strike Rate Award is presented to the Victorian registered trainer with the highest percentage of total winners compared to total starters in full provincial stake money races conducted in Victoria during the racing year (1 July to 30 June). Minimum 52 starts. Criteria

Peter QuiltyPeter Quilty

Peter Quilty

Peter Quilty has more than three decades of experience as assistant editor of Victorian Greyhound Weekly. He was editor of GRV monthly magazine The Adviser (2001-09) and owner/publisher of Australian Greyhound Monthly. He also served on the selection panel for the inaugural GRV ‘Hall of Fame’ inductees and for several years was an adjudicator on the Victorian GOTY. He’s also published greyhound racing yearbooks and wrote the ‘Bold Trease’ video script.

Up Next

GRV Board Leadership Award: Cory Hiscock

The 2022 GRV Board Leadership Award recipient is…

Newsletter Signup