• Monday, 14 Mar, 2022,
  • by Gerard Guthrie

Audacious record in Cup heats

Brilliant Victorian youngster Mr. Audacious caused a sensation in Monday night’s Group 2 CKH Painting Shepparton Cup heats, incredibly smashing the 450m track record at just his fifth start.

Trained by Rachael Busuttil at Kilmany, the aptly named Mr. Audacious was thrown in the deep end in the last of six Cup heats, having won three of his four starts, each of his victories coming at Traralgon.

Not two until April, the son of Beast Unleashed and Audacious Bell started $4.40 from Box 6 and showed blistering acceleration to burst to the front as he defeated $2 favourite Robbie Rotten in 24.655sec.

Mr. Audacious shaved a tenth of a second off the previous record of 24.75sec, set by country cups ‘king’ Ferdinand Boy in the 2021 Shepparton Cup final.

In running second, a length behind Mr. Audacious, G2 Warragul Cup winner Robbie Rotten also broke the previous benchmark.

Mr. Audacious showed signs of what was to come at his debut at Traralgon on January 29, when clocking 21.53sec, the equal quickest time recorded to date over 395m on the new ‘J-curve’ track, with dual country cups winner Typhoon Sammy.

Mr. Audacious was bred by Stephanie Tyler, with owner Kevin Wainwright having knocked back several offers for his newly crowned record holder.


Other highlights from Monday night’s heats included:

  • Three-time country cups winner Ferdinand Boy will defend his Shepparton Cup crown after a scorching 24.82sec heat victory, the second fastest qualifying performance and just a length outside his previous record.
  • 81-start veteran sprinter Dream Wizard produced the biggest upset when clocking a fast 24.88sec at $32, with the four-year-old qualifying for his fourth country cups decider.
  • G1 Silver Chief runner-up Compliance was the other sub-25sec heat winner, posting 24.93sec for Karen Pitt, whose partner Wayne Vassallo won the 2015 Shepparton Cup with Azza Azza Azza.

Saturday 19 March – $47,000 to the winner

  1. DREAM WIZARD (Melanie Lithgow, Devon Meadows)
  2. DYNAMIC PRINCE (Peter Presutto, Devon Meadows)
  3. FERDINAND BOY (David Geall, Lara)
  4. COMPLIANCE (Karen Pitt, Pearcedale)
  5. IDOLIZE (Peter Presutto, Devon Meadows)
  6. MR. AUDACIOUS (Rachael Busuttil, Kilmany)
  7. SUBSTANTIAL (Anthony Azzopardi, Rowsley)
  8. ROBBIE ROTTEN (Kayla Cottrell, Pearcedale)


  1. PAUA OF BUDDY (Steve White, Buln Buln East)
  2. ORSON MICK (Jessica Sharp, Avalon)

Heat winners
(fastest to slowest)

  • 24.66sec Mr. Audacious
  • 24.82sec Ferdinand Boy
  • 24.88sec Dream Wizard
  • 24.93sec Compliance
  • 25.00sec Substantial
  • 25.01sec Idolize
Photos by Clint Anderson

Gerard GuthrieGerard Guthrie

Gerard Guthrie

One of Australia’s leading greyhound racing journalists since 2000 with the Greyhound Recorder and now with Greyhound Racing Victoria. Part-owner 2013 Group 1 Paws Of Thunder winner Sheikha. (The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of GRV)

Up Next

Daily Mail: ‘Pie’ night at Warragul

Here Comes Pie v Archie’s Entity + Wow She’s Fast…