Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

Strong hand for Vics in SA

Victorian sprinter Curt Lee impressed onlookers last night at Angle Park in a heat of the Group 3 SA Derby, stopping the clock in a best of the night 29.50sec over the 515m.

Spearing to the lead from box six, the son of Fernando Bale and Rockin’ Josie went 4.36sec to the first mark which landed him two lengths clear before they hit the finishing post for the first time.

“His run was exceptional,” said trainer Glenn Rounds.

“The dog’s a fast dog and he just breaks them up with sheer speed early, but he doesn’t go home too strong.”

Fellow Victorians Mepunga Pegasus (Jeff Britton) and Cappy Morgan (Lisa Cockerell) rounded out the minor placings in the opening SA Derby heat.

WATCH: Curt Lee (6), Mepunga Pegasus (6) and Cappy Morgan (4) in their SA Derby heat last night at Angle Park.

Victorians won three of the four SA Derby heats with Weblec King for Matt Lanigan claiming the opening qualifier in 29.70sec and Mod Squad for Jessica Sharp in 30.12sec.

2019 SA Derby Final

1. Mepunga Pegasus (Jeff Britton)
2. Weblec King (Matt Lanigan)
3. Jasper The Jet (Terry Priest)
4. Curt Lee (Glenn Rounds)
5. American Man (Lisa Rasmussen)
6. Mod Squad (Jessica Sharp)
7. Weblec Eagle (Matt Lanigan)
8. It’s A Riot (Ben Rawlings)

9. Ultimate Speed (Brian Smith)
10. Cappy Morgan (Lisa Cockerell)

“I am pretty happy Curt Lee is going in on the second row. He is a little professional and doesn’t muck around. Not having to wait in the boxes too long is a good thing aswell,” Glenn said.

Glenn is already looking at races beyond the SA Derby which will be run next Thursday night at Angle Park.

“The Million Dollar Chase is an option for him at Wentworth Park. Striker Light and Up Hill Jill set races up on box rise at Wentworth Park (last year) which he can also do.”

Last night also saw three heats of the Group 3 SA Oaks with Victorians winning two of them.

Submission for Brad Keel won the opening Oaks heat in 29.70sec over the Mepunga Maggie (Jeff Britton).

While Miss Bellawood for Jeff Britton won her heat in 29.92sec.

WATCH: Submission (5) wins her third consecutive race at Angle Park last night.

2019 SA Oaks Final

1. Coorong Lucy (Cameron Butcher)
2. Oakvale Beauty (Nathan Wilson)
3. Mepunga Maggie (Jeff Britton)
4. Swift Timing (Troy Murray)
5. Dashing Mickey (Gavin Harris)
6. Submission (Bradley Keel)
7. Kisses For Cloda (Ray Fewings)
8. Miss Bellawood (Jeff Britton)

9. Aston Peregrine (Paul Abela)
10. Zipping Jamie Debbie Bewley)

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

About Molly Haines - Communication Assistant at Greyhound Racing Victoria with 16 years of experience working with greyhounds in all capacities.
View all posts

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis