• Tuesday, 15 Aug, 2017,
  • by Greyhound Racing Victoria

Victorian Greyhound of the Year to be crowned as a champion

Victoria’s best racing greyhound will be crowned this Friday at the 42nd Victorian Greyhound Awards hosted at the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club.

The champion greyhound will be announced as one of several prestigious awards to be handed out on the night which will also celebrate the highest award for excellence in training, the Ken Carr Award, and at which new inductees will be selected into the GRV Hall of Fame.

Awards will also be presented for:

  • Provincial and Metropolitan Trainers of the Year
  • Victorian Sprinter and Victorian Stayer of the Year
  • The Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award for outstanding achievement in the training, breeding, welfare or promotion of greyhound racing and
  • The GRV Welfare Award for outstanding contribution to the welfare of greyhounds as judged by GRV’s Board of Directors.

Some of the greyhounds expected to be in the contention for the Victorian Greyhound of the Year Award include multiple Group One winners Fanta Bale, Dundee Osprey, Lightning Frank and Striker Light, as well as Zambora Brockie, who was widely regarded as one of the best greyhounds in Australia for much of the 2016/17 racing year.

Victorian Greyhound Awards: Group 1 Highlights

Greyhound Racing VictoriaGreyhound Racing Victoria

Greyhound Racing Victoria

GRV regulates the sport of greyhound racing in the state of Victoria under the Racing Act 1958 (Act), which includes setting standards and ensuring they are met by participants.

Up Next

Submissions To Shape Greyhound Code

Public submissions on the draft Code of Practice for the Keeping of Racing…

Newsletter Signup