Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

Adelaide Cup Appears Britton’s Destiny

Jeff Britton says Oakvale Destiny is at least three lengths faster than his 2011 Adelaide Cup winner, Mepunga Nicky.

The Victorian made the comparison after training four of the seven heat winners of the Group 1 Adelaide Cup on Thursday night, including Oakvale Destiny, who is drawn perfectly in Box 1 in the $75,000 to-the-winner final at Angle Park next Friday night (10 October).

“Mepunga Nicky was a brilliant beginner who would blow her opposition away with her early speed. Oakvale Destiny doesn’t begin as well as Mepunga Nicky did, but she is a lot stronger than she was and is three to four lengths quicker than her overall,” Britton said.

Oakvale Destiny won the Group 1 Sapphire Crown at Sandown Park earlier this year and, like Mepunga Nicky, she has also won the Group 2 South Australian Oaks (in September).

All in all Britton is thrilled with how his greyhounds fared with box draw in the Adelaide Cup.

“Oakvale Destiny is where she wants to be (Box 1) and so is Texas Titan (Box 8), while if Mepunga Armagh (Box 4) and Cosmic Wise (Box 5) were swapped around it would have been absolutely perfect.”

“Mepunga Armagh likes to get off the track a little bit while Cosmic Wise can crash down to the rail, so they may interfere with each other,” he said.

On times, little more than three lengths separated the seven heat winners, with Texas Titan making up enormous ground on National Time in his heat to run a Best of Night 29.74sec.

“Texas Titan ran a huge race, and so did Allen Deed. He is drawn in Box 2 and if he gets a clear run he looms as a real danger to our chances,” Britton said.

Full Results & Race Replays: Click Here
2014 Adelaide Cup Box Draw
1. OAKVALE DESTINY (Jeff Britton, Vic)
2. ALLEN DEED (Andrea Dailly, Vic)
3. WINBROOK (Cameron Butcher, SA)
4. MEPUNGA ARMAGH (Jeff Britton, Vic)
5. COSMIC WISE (Jeff Britton, Vic)
6. VALLADARES (Lauren Harris, SA)
7. BLURRED LINES (Kelly Bravo, Vic)
8. TEXAS TITAN (Jeff Britton, Vic)
9. NATIONAL TIME (Darren Brown, Vic)
10. IVA VISION (Peter Young, Qld)
Pictured top: Oakvale Destiny with Jeff Britton after winning the Group 1 Sapphire Crown at Sandown Park in May.

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

Related Posts

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis