Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

About Hall of Fame

Greyhound Racing Victoria (GRV) launched the Victorian greyhound racing Hall of Fame at a gala function held at the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club on July 12, 2009. In total, 36 inaugural inductees were presented and honoured throughout the night.


The development of the Hall of Fame commenced back in April 2008, when the GRV Board decided unanimously to support the establishment of a Victorian greyhound racing industry Hall of Fame, to preserve its history and honour the icons of the sport.


Subsequently, steering and selection committees were appointed to develop and finalise the project, including the coordination of research on the initial Hall of Fame nominees and then eventually the chosen inductees.


The Hall of Fame recognises and enshrines both the people and greyhounds that have made a most significant contribution to the Victorian greyhound industry since the commencement of non-proprietary racing in 1956. It has also recognised a small number of individuals – “The Pioneers” – who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport prior to 1956.


The 36 inaugural inductees fall into three broad categories:

• The Pioneers (8) – recognised by the selection committee as having shaped greyhound racing’s early days.
• The People (15) – includes trainers, breeders, owners, administrators and other prominent personalities.
• The Greyhounds (13) – includes achievements on the racetrack and at stud.


All future Victorian Hall of Fame inductees will be announced at the annual Victorian Greyhound Industry Awards (usually held in February) with a maximum of four inductees to be added in any given year.

The content on this page was accurate at the time of publishing. If you notice any inaccurate content on this page or anywhere on the website, please report it here

Best CBD for Dogs with Arthritis