Victorian Greyhound Awards 2015-2016

Greyhound Racing Victoria hosted its 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards at the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club on 19 August, 2016. Check out some of the highlights that took place on the night in the videos below.

2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards Highlights

General highlights package from the 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards night.

View video

Minister for Racing, Martin Pakula shows his support

Minister for Racing, Martin Pakula outlined his support for greyhound racing in Victoria.

View video

‘We’re proud of our participants’: GRV Chairman Bernie Carolan

GRV Chairman Bernie Carolan speaking at the 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards.

View video

‘He deserves this’: Fernando Bale claims highest accolade

Fernando Bale was adjudged the 2015/16 Sprinter of the Year and Greyhound of the Year.

View video

Greyhound Adoption Program highlights

A Greyhound Adoption Program highlights reel was one of several videos played on the night.

View video

Connecting with stakeholders and local communities

Victorian greyhound racing’s growth away from the racetrack was shown in this video at the awards night.

View video

GRV Hall of Fame: Marg Long

Leading greyhound club administrator Marg Long was shocked at her induction into GRV’s Hall of Fame.

Video 1   Video 2

GRV Hall of Fame: Cursorial

Broodmatron Cursorial was recognised for the many champions she produced from limited matings.

Video 1   Video 2

GRV Hall of Fame: Ron Izon

The late Ron Izon was a mechanical mastermind who became a trailblazer in racetrack equipment.

Video 1   Video 2

GRV Welfare Award:
Aileen Travis

Experienced greyhound foster carer Aileen Travis was the inaugural recipient of the GRV Welfare Award.

View video

Ken Carr Medal:
John Reid

John Reid was recognised for volunteering many years of service to greyhound groups and clubs.

View video

Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award:
Gerard O’Keeffe

Gerard O’Keeffe was acknowledged for his training success and contribution to the promotion of greyhound racing.

View video

Trainer of the Year: Andrea Dailly

Andrea Dailly was announced as both the Metropolitan and the Provincial Trainer of the Year for 2015/16.

View video

2015 Group 1 Finals

Replays of Victoria’s metropolitan Group 1 finals from the 2015 calendar year were played at the awards night.

View video

2016 Group 1 Finals

Replays of Victoria’s metropolitan Group 1 finals from the first half of 2016 were played during the event.

View video