• Tuesday, 25 Oct, 2022,
  • by Greyhound Racing Victoria

Temporary Change to Nomination Schedule

Despite the current racing population being at a level to support 25 meetings per week, it has become a regular occurrence for some meetings to not receive enough nominations by the advertised close time, resulting in nomination close times being extended.

This practice often results in uncertainty for participants, trainer confusion relating to roll-over nominations and trainer perceptions of unfairness in the nominating and grading process.

As such, GRV are conducting a pilot over a six-week period during which time the advertised nomination close time for all meetings is deemed final, and meetings are graded according to the nominations received at that closing time.

The pilot will run from Monday 14th November 2022 until Friday 23rd December 2022. All advertised nomination close times during this time are included in the pilot.  The pilot nomination close schedule will run from 9am – 2pm most days, with a minimum of one hour between individual meeting close times.

The Racing Department will monitor nominations during the pilot, with various meeting metrics analysed to determine the impact the pilot is having on positively influencing nomination behaviour.

Notwithstanding the approach of finalising nominations at the advertised close time during the pilot, GRV reserves the right to extend nomination close for any meeting to avoid cancelling the meeting, or to avoid cancelling or postponing a feature Event should insufficient nominations be received by the pilot’s nomination close schedule.

The nominations schedule in place during the pilot is listed below.

Day of Meeting Timeslot Usual Club Meeting Level Nomination
Close – Day
Close – Time
Wednesday Twilight Bendigo 3 Monday 9am
Wednesday Night Ballarat 2 10am
Wednesday Night Traralgon/Sale 2 11am
Wednesday Day Meadows (MEP) 2 12pm
Thursday Twilight Warragul 3 1pm
Thursday Night Sandown (SAN) 1 2pm
Thursday Day Shepparton 3 Tuesday 9am
Thursday Night Warrnambool 2 10am
Friday Twilight Bendigo 2 11am
Friday Night Geelong 2 1pm
Friday Day Healesville 3 Wednesday 9am
Friday Night Traralgon 2 10am
Saturday Morning Rotate 3 11am
Saturday Twilight Rotate 2 1pm
Saturday Night The Meadows (MEA) 1 2pm
Sunday Twilight Sale 2 Thursday 9am
Sunday Day Healesville 2 10am
Sunday Day Sandown (SAP) 2 11am
Monday Day Ballarat 3 1pm
Monday Twilight Traralgon 3 2pm
Monday Twilight Warrnambool 3 Friday 9am
Monday Night Shepparton 2 10am
Tuesday Twilight Geelong 3 11am
Tuesday Night Warragul 2 1pm
Tuesday Twilight Horsham 2 2pm
Greyhound Racing VictoriaGreyhound Racing Victoria

Greyhound Racing Victoria

GRV regulates the sport of greyhound racing in the state of Victoria under the Racing Act 1958 (Act), which includes setting standards and ensuring they are met by participants.

Up Next

Green Light On | Episode 78 – Sandown Park form plus Carly Feltham

James Van de Maat and Jason Adams…

Newsletter Signup