Sign up to newsletter
* = required field

GR8 EIGHT: Local stars to reap rewards with new series

A brand new initiative titled the Gr8 Eight series is bringing together Victoria’s elite greyhounds to allow them to earn greater prize money and stimulate interest from racing fans and punters.

Running parallel with Sandown’s May Carnival and extending into June, the Gr8 Eight series comprises 12 x $15,000 Special Events spread across Victoria’s two metropolitan tracks and run over a variety of distances.

Importantly, these Gr8 Eight special events are aimed at providing opportunities for Victoria’s top-class greyhounds to race for above-average prize money in a climate where there are travelling restrictions and changes to Australia’s group racing calendar due to COVID-19.

GR8 EIGHT CALENDAR
Thursday 7 May:
Sandown Park (715m)                   Winner: MISTER HARLEWOOD
Thursday 14 May: Sandown Park (595m)                 Winner: ROCKSTAR BEAV
Thursday 28 May: Sandown Park (515m)                 Winner: SIMON TOLD HELEN
Saturday 30 May: The Meadows (600m)                   Winner: WEBLEC HAZE
Thursday 4 June: Sandown Park (595m)                   Winner: LAST HURRAH
Saturday 6 June: The Meadows (525m)                      Winner: SIMON TOLD HELEN
Thursday 11 June: Sandown Park (715m)                   Winner: BLAZING CARTIER
Saturday 13 June: The Meadows (600m)                     Winner: LAST HURRAH
Thursday 18 June: Sandown Park (515m)                    Not run due to insufficient noms 
Saturday 20 June: The Meadows (725m)                     Winner: TRUE DETECTIVE
Thursday 25 June: Sandown Park (595m)                    Winner : LAST HURRAH 
Saturday 27 June: The Meadows  (525m)                    Winner : WEBLEC ACE

GR8 EIGHT PRIZE MONEY
1st – $10,500; 2nd $3,000; 3rd $1,500
Total: $15,000.

Related Posts