• Friday, 19 Aug, 2016,
  • by Greyhound Racing Victoria

Aileen Travis wins GRV Welfare Award

This evening’s 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards kicked off at 5:00pm today with a special pre-awards ceremony hosted by James Van de Maat at Sandown Park.

Four awards took place at the pre-ceremony, including the inaugural GRV Welfare Award, which was presented by GRV Deputy Chair Judith Bornstein (pictured) to Aileen Travis.

Aileen has been heavily involved with the Greyhound Adoption Program since 2001 in a variety of roles including fostering around 200 greyhounds to help them make a smooth transition from professional athlete to loving pet.

Others recognised in the pre-awards ceremony were Gerald O’Keeffe, who won the Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ award, and Andrea Dailly, who took out the Metropolitan Trainer of the Year and Provincial Trainer of the Year.

2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Pre-Awards:
GRV Welfare Award: Aileen Travis
Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’: Gerard O’Keeffe
Metropolitan Trainer of the Year: Andrea Dailly
Provincial Trainer of the Year: Andrea Dailly

Stay tuned to for the latest news on tonight’s Victorian Greyhound Awards, including the newest Hall of Fame inductees and the 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound of the Year.

Gerry O’Keeffe with the Ned Bryant ‘Silver Fox’ Award.

Andrea Dailly with GRV Chairman Bernie Carolan and GRV CEO Alan Clayton.

Greyhound Racing VictoriaGreyhound Racing Victoria

Greyhound Racing Victoria

GRV regulates the sport of greyhound racing in the state of Victoria under the Racing Act 1958 (Act), which includes setting standards and ensuring they are met by participants.

Up Next

John Reid named the 2015/16 Ken Carr Medallist

John Reid has been awarded the prestigious Ken Carr Medal at tonight’s 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards at the Sandown Greyhound Racing Club. Minister for Racing, Martin Pakula (above) present…

Newsletter Signup