

MEDIA RELEASE

17 August 2016

WHO WILL BE CROWNED THE 2015/16 VICTORIAN GREYHOUND OF THE YEAR?

Much of the interest surrounding Friday night's Victorian Greyhound Awards at Sandown Greyhound Racing Club centres around who will be crowned the 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound of the Year.

The Victorian Greyhound of the Year is considered the highest accolade a greyhound can achieve in this state, and will be announced on Friday night upon the counting of votes submitted by the Victorian Greyhound of the Year Panel, which has been conducted via a secret ballot.

There are two finalists for the Victorian Sprinter of the Year (Dyna Double One and Fernando Bale) and two finalists for the Victorian Stayer of the Year (No Donuts and Space Star), from which the Victorian Greyhound of the Year will be announced.

These awards relate to racetrack performances over the 18 month period incorporating the entire 2015 calendar year and the first half of 2016.

THE CONTENDERS:

DYNA DOUBLE ONE

Category: Sprinter

Breeding: Barcia Bale x Crystin Bale

2015/16 Record: 50 starts – 27 wins, nine seconds, six thirds

Owner: Brendan Wheeler **Trainer:** Andrea Dailly (Anakie)

Breeder: Paul Wheeler

Group Wins: G1 Rookie Rebel, G1 Australian Cup, G1 Brisbane Cup, G1 Melbourne Cup, G3 Perth Cup

Consolation.

Group Finalist: G1 Hobart Thousand (6th), G2 Shootout (2nd), G1 Topgun (3rd), G3 South Australian Derby (4th), G3 Puppy Classic (3rd), G1 Maturity Classic (2nd), G1 Brisbane Winter Cup (2nd), G1 Peter Mosman

Phone: (03) 8329 1100

Fax: (03) 8329 1000

Email: info@grv.org.au

Web: www.grv.org.au

Classic (2nd), G2 Cannington Derby (2nd), G1 Golden Easter Egg (5th), G1 Silver Chief (3rd).

FERNANDO BALE

Category: Sprinter

Breeding: Kelsos Fusileer x Chloe Allen

2015/16 Record: 40 starts - 33 wins, three seconds, two thirds

Owner: Paul Wheeler

Trainer: Andrea Dailly (Anakie)







Breeder: Paul Wheeler

Group Wins: G1 Sky Racing Topgun, G1 Adelaide Cup, G2 Traralgon Cup, G1 National Sprint Championship, G1 Hudson Pacific Maturity Classic, G2 Bendigo Cup, G1 Peter Mosman Classic, G3 Bill Collins Memorial, G1

Harrison – Dawson Final, G1 Golden Easter Egg, GNational Derby **Group Finalist:** G2 Ballarat Cup (5th) and G1 TAB Melbourne Cup (2nd)

NO DONUTS

Category: Stayer

Breeding: Fabregas x Chevy Princess

2015/16 Record: 47 starts – 24 wins, nine seconds, two thirds

Owner: Bradley Canty

Trainer: Anthony Azzopardi (Myrniong)

Breeder: Michael Manuel

Group Wins: G1 Zoom Top, G2 Summer Distance Plate, G1 Sale Cup.

Group Finalist: G1 Sandown Cup (8th), G1 Australian Stayers (6th), G3 Sir John Dillon Memorial (3rd), G1 Peter

Mosman Classic (5th), G2 Queensland Derby (2nd), G3 New Sensation (7th), G2 Richmond Derby (2nd).

SPACE STAR

Category: Stayer

Breeding: Bekim Bale x Tonto Tears

2015/16 Record: 14 starts – 11 wins, zero seconds, one third

Owner: Michael Ivers

Trainer: Robert Britton (Lara)

Breeder: Michael Ivers

Group Wins: G3 Gold Cup, G1 Association Cup, G1 Zoom Top, G1 Galaxy, G2 Summer Distance.

Group Finalist: G1 Sandown Cup (6th), G1 Superstayers (3rd).

Other awards to be announced on the night include:

- GRV Hall of Fame
- Ken Carr Medal
- GRV Welfare Award
- Ned Bryant 'Silver Fox'
- Metropolitan Trainer of the Year
- Provincial Trainer of the Year

Live coverage of the 2015/16 Victorian Greyhound Awards will be streamed from 5pm on 19 August on the following channels.

Website: grv.org.au

Facebook: facebook.com/GRVictoria

Twitter: @GRV_News

<Ends>

For media inquires please contact:

Luke Holmesby | Public Affairs Manager, Strategic Communication | 8329 1143 | Iholmesby@grv.org.au

